SAN DIEGO, Calif. (NNS) - Commander Naval Surface Forces announced the winners of the 2010 Unit Tactics Award and the Junior Officer Award for Excellence in Tactics for the Atlantic and Pacific Fleets, March 3.

The ships and officers were selected by their group or squadron, and certificates will be forwarded to each of their parent commands for presentation.

"Tactical proficiency is the core of Back to Basics, these ships and Sailors embody Surface Warfare's culture of professionalism and continued excellence," said Vice Adm. D.C. Curtis, Commander, Naval Surface Forces.

The winners of the Unit Tactics Award are:

USS Lake Champlain (CG 57), USS Vella Gulf (CG 72), USS Mobile Bay (CG 53), USS Vicksburg (CG 69), USS Normandy (CG 60), USS Princeton (CG 59), USS San Jacinto (CG 56), USS McClusky (FFG 41), USS Howard (DDG 83), USS Rodney M. Davis (FFG 60), USS McCampbell (DDG 85), USS Milius (DDG 69), USS Mitscher (DDG 57), USS Pinckney (DDG 91), USS Carney (DDG 64), USS Kauffman (FFG 59), USS Donald Cook (DDG 75), USS Hopper (DDG 70), USS Chosin (CG 65), USS Harpers Ferry (LSD 49), USS Dubuque (LPD 8), USS Carter Hall (LSD 50), USS New Orleans (LPD 18), USS Nassau (LHA 4), MCM Crew Persistent.

The winners for the Junior Officer Award for Excellence in Tactics are:

Lt.Cmdr. Patrick O'Loughlin, USS Monterey (CG 61); Lt. Chris Hoffmeister, USS Hue City (CG 66); Lt.Cmdr. Courtney Taft, USS Princeton (CG 59); Lt.j.g. Molly Meyerink, USS Stockdale (DDG 106); Lt. Ryan Rodgers, USS Mason (DDG 87); Lt.Cmdr. Nathaniel Shick, USS Howard (DDG 83); Lt.j.g. Jonathan Zang, USS Momsen (DDG 92); Lt. Joseph Briscoe, USS John L. Hall (FFG 32); Lt. Paul Cassutti, USS Fitzgerald (DDG 62); Lt.Cmdr. Erich Schwartz, USS Wayne E. Meyer (DDG 108); Lt.Cmdr. Jason Wilson, USS Mitscher (DDG 57); Lt.j.g. John Kizer, USS Sampson (DDG 102); Lt. Justin Novak, USS Ross (DDG 71); Lt. Matthew Krauz, USS Chung-Hoon (DDG 93); Lt.Cmdr. Joel Uzarski, USS Lake Erie (CG 70); Lt. Patrick Isom, USS Essex (LHD 2); Lt. Gwendolyn Mitchell, USS Boxer (LHD 4); Lt. Jeffrey Betz, USS Kearsarge (LHD 3); Lt. Jonathan Saewert, USS New Orleans (LPD 18).

For more news from Commander, Naval Surface Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet, visit or follow the Surface Force at

For more news from Naval Surface Forces, visit