An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Navy announces 2019 Stockdale Leadership Award recipients

09 September 2019

From Chief of Naval Personnel Public Affairs

Cmdr. Carl Trask, former commanding officer of USS Connecticut (SSN 22), is the Pacific Fleet recipient of the award.
A file photo of the plaques presented to the 2017 Vice Admiral James Bond Stockdale Leadership Award recipients. (U.S. Navy/MC1 Nathan Laird)
A file photo of the plaques presented to the 2017 Vice Admiral James Bond Stockdale Leadership Award recipients. (U.S. Navy/MC1 Nathan Laird)
Photo By: MC1 Nathan Laird
VIRIN: 171103-N-AT895-103

WASHINGTON - Navy announced Cmdr. Patrick O’Loughlin of U.S. Fleet Forces Command and Cmdr. Carl Trask of U.S. Pacific Fleet as recipients of the 2019 Vice Admiral James Bond Stockdale Leadership Award in NAVADMIN 208/19, Sept. 9.

O’Loughlin is commanding officer of USS Forrest Sherman (DDG 98) and Trask is the former commanding officer of USS Connecticut (SSN 22).

The award is named for Vice Adm. James Bond Stockdale, a Naval Academy graduate and pilot. In September 1965, Stockdale ejected from his A-4E Skyhawk over North Vietnam and was captured. While prisoner, Stockdale served as an inspiring leader to his fellow prisoners until his release in February 1973. He received the Medal of Honor in 1976 and served as president of the Naval War College from October 1977 until August 1979. Stockdale articulated five roles for a leader: moralist, jurist, teacher, steward and philosopher.

Today, the Stockdale Award recognizes those who demonstrate inspirational leadership both professionally and personally, and contribute to the improvement of leadership in the Navy.

Active duty Navy commanders and below who are serving in command of a single ship, submarine, aviation squadron, Sea, Air, Land (SEAL) team, naval special warfare squadron, SEAL delivery vehicle team, special boat team, explosive ordnance disposal mobile unit, mobile diving and salvage unit, or Navy special clearance team may be nominated by their peers. Officers who wish to make a nomination must themselves be eligible for the award.

A selection board meets and selects two winners from a group of six finalists. These finalists deserve special mention:

U.S. Pacific Fleet finalists:

Cmdr. Sean P. Lewis, Commanding Officer, USS Sterett (DDG 104)

Cmdr. Corey Poorman, Commanding Officer, USS Pasadena (SSN 752)

Cmdr. Steven J. Shauberger, Commanding Officer of Electronic Attack Squadron 135 (VAQ-135)

U.S. Fleet Forces finalist:

Cmdr. Troy Tartaglia, Commanding Officer, Patrol Squadron 16 (VP-16)

O’Loughlin and Trask will be honored in a ceremony in the Pentagon tentatively scheduled for this November.

Guidance-Card-Icon Dept-Exclusive-Card-Icon