An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Pacific Submarine Force Battle Efficiency Awards Announced

09 January 2014

From Commander, Submarine Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet Public Affairs

COMSUBPAC announced the recipients of the 2013 Battle Efficiency (Battle "E") award for 2013 in an official message to the submarine force, Jan. 1.

PEARL HARBOR, Hawaii - Commander Submarine Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet (COMSUBPAC) announced the recipients of the 2013 Battle Efficiency (Battle "E") award in an official message to the submarine force Jan. 1.

The Battle "E" is an award of merit presented to the most proficient submarine crew in each squadron and recognizes sustained superior technical performance and continual combat readiness throughout the year. The awards are presented by the commodore of each squadron to the submarine under their command which has demonstrated the highest level of battle readiness during the evaluation year.

"The competition for Battle Efficiency awards was extremely tough," said Rear Adm. Phillip Sawyer, Commander Submarine Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet, in the message to the force. "These awards recognize commands which were evaluated during the past year to have attained the highest overall or departmental readiness to carry out their wartime tasks. Each crew member of an award winner can be justifiably proud of their contribution to improve Pacific Submarine Force readiness. I am extremely proud of your outstanding performance."

The Pacific Force Battle "E" winners and their homeports are:

Commander, Submarine Squadron (SUBRON) 1 (Pearl Harbor, Hawaii) - USS Greeneville (SSN 772)
SUBDEVRON 5 (Bangor, Wash.) - USS Jimmy Carter (SSN 23)
SUBRON 7 (Pearl Harbor) - USS Cheyenne (SSN 773)
SUBRON 11 (San Diego) - USS Albuquerque (SSN 706)
SUBRON 15 (Guam) - USS Chicago (SSN 721)
SUBRON 17 (Bangor) - USS Nebraska (SSBN 739) (Blue and Gold)
SUBRON 19 (Bangor) - USS Ohio (SSGN 726) (Blue)
Submarine Tender USS Emory S. Land (AS 39)
Special Category was awarded to Floating Dry Dock Arco (ADRM-5) and the Undersea Rescue Command (URC), both in San Diego.

Winners of each of the Battle "E" competitive categories were also announced. Those categories included the Engineering Red E, Weapons Readiness White W, Strategic Readiness White S, Supply Readiness Blue E, Personnel Readiness White P, and Repair Readiness White R.

Guidance-Card-Icon Dept-Exclusive-Card-Icon