An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Two Carrier Strike Groups Operate in 7th Fleet Promoting Security, Stability

29 October 2015

From Task Force 70 Public Affairs

As USS Theodore Roosevelt (CVN 71) transited the South China Sea Oct. 28 following a Singapore port visit, USS Ronald Reagan (CVN 76) was off the east coast of the Korean Peninsula training with the Republic of Korea Navy.

SINGAPORE - Nimitz-Class aircraft carrier USS Theodore Roosevelt (CVN 71) — and Ticonderoga-class guided-missile cruiser USS Normandy (CG 60) — departed Singapore after a four-day port visit to the island nation, Oct. 28, and continues on its routine journey to its new homeport of San Diego.

Concurrently, the Ronald Reagan Carrier Strike Group (CSG) is operating off the east coast of the Korean peninsula conducting routine bilateral training with the Republic of Korea navy. Their carrier strike group consists of Nimitz-class aircraft carrier USS Ronald Reagan with its embarked air wing, Carrier Air Wing (CVW) 5, Ticonderoga-class guided-missile cruiser USS Chancellorsville (CG 62) and Arleigh Burke-class guided-missile destroyers USS Curtis Wilbur (DDG 54), USS Fitzgerald (DDG 62) and USS Mustin (DDG 89).

"Having two carrier strike groups in the region working simultaneously with our allies and partners is just another example of our commitment to building capacity, keeping the sea lanes open and maintaining peace in the region," said Vice Adm. Joseph Aucoin, commander, Seventh Fleet. "We are pleased with the opportunity for the crew of the Theodore Roosevelt to have been able to work alongside our Indian and JMSDF partners on its way through 7th Fleet."

The U.S. routinely conducts Carrier Strike Group operations in the waters around the Republic of Korea to exercise maritime maneuvers, strengthen the U.S.-ROK alliance, and improve regional security. This bilateral training consist of a routine training, subject matter expert exchanges, anti-submarine and anti-surface warfare drills, communication drills, air defense exercises, counter-mine planning and distinguished visitor embarkations.

“The U.S. Navy maintains a presence in the Indo-Asia-Pacific region to help preserve peace and security and further our partnerships with friends and allies,” said Rear Adm. John Alexander, commander, Ronald Reagan CSG. “Our forward presence contributes to freedom of navigation and lawful use of the sea, as well as furthers operational training and enables an exchange of culture, skills, and tactical knowledge.”

During the Theodore Roosevelt visit to Singapore, Sailors participated in multiple community relations events, took in the cultural sites and sounds of Singapore in a welcome break from operations at sea.

Prior to the Singapore port visit, Theodore Roosevelt and Normandy participated in the trilateral exercise Malabar with the Indian and Japanese navies. The annual high-end warfighting exercise, which began in 1992, featured maritime patrol and reconnaissance operations, surface and anti-submarine warfare, air defense exercises (ADEX), and visit, board, search and seizure (VBSS) operations. Malabar is a continuing series of complex, war fighting exercises conducted to advance multi-national maritime relationships and mutual security. It features complex exercises both ashore and at sea.

The 7th Fleet’s area of responsibility encompasses more than 48 million square miles (more than 124 million square kilometers) - from the Kuril Islands in the north to the Antarctic in the south, and from the International Date Line to the 68th meridian east, which runs down from the India-Pakistan border. The area includes 36 maritime countries and the world’s five largest foreign armed forces - People’s Republic of China, Russia, India, North Korea and Republic of Korea. Five of the seven U.S. Mutual Defense Treaties are with countries in the area - Republic of the Philippines, Australia and New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Japan, and Thailand.

Guidance-Card-Icon Dept-Exclusive-Card-Icon